KIPP Through College (KTC) is a part of the broader KIPP approach that aims to ensure that all students are prepared to succeed in college and live choice-filled lives. Through high school transition support, one-on-one college counseling, alumni advising for KIPPsters in college, and career readiness services, KIPP students go on to matriculate and graduate from high school and college, ready to begin their careers.  Ultimately, the vision of the KIPP Through College program is that all students have the access, skills and resources necessary to navigate to and through college into self-sufficient adulthood.

2,175 KIPP Students Served

Over 2,100 KIPP alumni receive college advising and career support.

85% College Matriculation

85% of the students who completed 8th grade with KIPP have gone on to attend college.

95% High School Graduation Rate

95% of KIPP students graduate from high school.

80+ College Partnerships

KIPP has partnered with more than 80 colleges and universities across the country to ensure student success.

HOW KIPP THROUGH COLLEGE WORKS

In addition to the rigorous academic preparation that KIPP Bay Area Public Schools offers, the KIPP Through College program offers a range of services to KIPP Bay Area Public Schools alumni.

IN HIGH SCHOOL

The focus on college is even more intentional when KIPP Bay Area Public Schools students begin high school. While in high school, KIPP Through College provides support to students in the following areas: academic advising, standardized testing preparation, college tours, college admissions and application assistance, scholarship support, and financial literacy.

IN COLLEGE

KTC not only supports students on their journey to college, but also supports them while they work towards college graduation. KTC advisors visit students on their college campuses, as well as keep in touch via email and phone. Counselors discuss academic progress, financial aid, social pressures, and internship and career options. During holidays and breaks, KIPP hosts events for KIPPsters while they are back in their hometowns.

Director:  Evita Anaya Bryden – evangelina.anaya@kippbayarea.org

Associate Director of College and Career Success: Samantha Epstein – samantha.epstein@kippbayarea.org

Associate Director of College Counseling: Shannon Harrison – shannon.harrison@kippbayarea.org

Associate Director of College Counseling: Gabriela Ureña gabriela.urena@kippbayarea.org

College Persistence Manager: Kevin Brown kevin.brown@kippbayarea.org

College Persistence Manager: Alissa Gordon alissa.gordon@kippbayarea.org

KIPP Through College Data Manager: Angelina Garcia – angelina.garcia@kippbayarea.org

KIPP San Francisco College Prep

Director of College Counseling and Department Chair: Natalie Hernandez – natalie.hernandez@kippsfcp.org

Junior Seminar Teacher: Andrew Smith – andrew.smith@kippsfcp.org

KIPP King Collegiate

College Counseling Department Chair and Senior College Counselor: Mayra Martin – mayra.martin@kippking.org

Senior College Counselor and Sophomore Seminar Teacher: Dallen Terell – dallen.terrell@kippking.org

Junior Seminar Teacher: Connie Shieh – connie.shieh@kippking.org

Sophomore Seminar Teacher: Marc Ampon – marc.ampon@kippking.org

KIPP San Jose Collegiate

College Counseling Department Chair and Senior College Counselor: Alma Carrillo – alma.carrillo@kippsanjose.org

Senior College Counselor: Isis Diaz – isis.diaz@kippsanjose.org

Junior Seminar Teacher: Dalia Cuenca – dalia.cuenca@kippsanjose.org

Sophomore Seminar Teacher: Gustavo Arámbula – gustavo.arambula@kippsanjose.org

Tansel Pope – tansel.pope@kippbayarea.org

Carlisha Washington – carlisha.washington@kippbayarea.org

Matthew Alvarez – matthew.alvarez@kippbayarea.org

Ashley Terry – ashley.terry@kippbayarea.org

Itzel Valdelomar – itzel.valdelomar@kippbayarea.org

Jessica Troiano – jessica.troiano@kippbayarea.org

Kailee Glover – kailee.glover@kippbayarea.org

Daisy Montes Cabrera – daisy.montescabrera@kippbayarea.org

Benjamin Perez – benjamin.perez@kippbayarea.org

Terese McWilliams – terese.mcwilliams@kippbayarea.org

Kyra Green – kyra.green@kippbayarea.org

Dominique Topps – dominique.topps@kippbayarea.org

INFO SHEET KTC

1405054766_social_3  1405054755_social_6  1405054852_social_2

Career Readiness

KIPP Through College provides major exploration and career readiness support through our 1:1 advising model, College & Career Connections programming at KIPP high schools, annual Career Summit event for college-age alumni and a robust Alumni Internship Program (AIP) over the summer. 

Our career readiness programming provides exposure to the variety of careers available and develops the necessary knowledge, skills, mindsets and behaviors to be successful in professional environments.

Our Alumni Internship Program is a competitive summer experience that allows KIPP high school and college students to gain early “real-world” career exposure to help increase alumni interest and excitement around college persistence and their own career trajectory. 

Can your company or organization host a KIPP high school or college intern?

Currently, 96% of KIPP Bay Area alumni who participated in our Alumni Internship Program are persisting in college, have identified majors that align with their career interests and have increased their professional and social capital. Our partners have a unique opportunity to develop young talent and support our community by hosting a KIPP high school or college summer intern.

KIPP Through College is looking for host organizations who can:

  1. a) Provide students with a meaningful opportunity at least two weeks or 50 hours in length during the summer months. Paid internships are preferred (approx. $13-15/hr), but unpaid opportunities are also available.
  2. b) Assign a supervisor who will provide regular, constructive feedback to interns, complete formal evaluations and liaise with KIPP.

To learn more about our Alumni Internship Program, contact Corporate Engagement Manager Chelsea Snow.

Financial Literacy

At KIPP, we know that understanding the cost of college and having access to saving accounts are crucial to earning a college degree. KIPP Bay Area Public Schools’ College Savings Program (CSP) helps make saving for higher education a top priority.

KIPP’s College Savings Program is comprised of three parts: student financial literacy lessons, parent financial empowerment workshops and enrollment into 529 savings accounts for KIPP Bay Area Public Schools students and alumni. Through our partnership with my529, KIPPsters are eligible to enroll in 529 plans to make saving for college easy, convenient and affordable.

529 SAVINGS ACCOUNT

For more information on 529 plans and KIPP’s College Savings Program, read our program overview (available in English, Spanish, Mandarin, Cantonese, or Vietnamese), or contact Gabriela Ureña, Associate Director of College Counseling, via email (gabriela.urena@kippbayarea.org).

 

College Partnerships

The KTC team develops targeted partnerships with colleges and universities with large concentrations of KIPP alumni. The goal is to leverage recruiting and retention initiatives to ensure KIPPsters enroll, persist, and graduate. Current local college partners include: California Polytechnic University – San Luis Obispo, Notre Dame de Namur University, Saint Mary’s College of California, San Francisco State University, San José State University, Sonoma State University, University of San Francisco, De Anza College, and the University of California at Berkeley, Davis, Santa Cruz and Merced.